About Us
Current Location:homepage  About Us  Introduction of CLSIntroduction of CLS

The Major of Biology was established at Nankai University in 1919 and the department of Biology was established based on the Major of Biology in 1922. From 1937 to 1945, Tsinghua University, Peking University and Nankai University united and formed National SouthWest Associated University. In 1946, Nankai University moved back to its original location, Department of Biology was rebuilt. The department of Biology at Sino French University was merged into Department of Biology at Nankai University in 1950. The institute of Molecular Biology was established in 1978. In 1993, Department of Biology and Institute of Molecular Biology united and formed College of Life Sciences.


There are 166 faculty and staff members (including 66 professors, 34 associate professors, and 8 lecturers) in College of Life Sciences, Nankai University. Among the faculty members, there are a member of Chinese Academy of Science, and a member of Chinese Academy of Engineering, nine Distinguished Young Scholars (NSFC), and five Excellent Young Scholars (NSFC). In addition, thirteen faculty members were selected into the National and Tianjin Thousand Talents Plan, and sixteen were supported by the Program for New Century Excellent Talents, Ministry of Education. There are also some visiting professors from prestigious universities all over the world.


College of Life Sciences currently has two majors for undergraduate students, Biotechnology and Biological science. There are 538 under- graduate students. Biotechnology is the interdisciplinary product of modern biology and its related subjects. The core courses are: general biology, genetic manipulation theory, microbial fermentation engineering, biochemistry, cell biology, microbiology, genetics, molecular biology, general biology experiments, biochemical experiments, experimental cell biology, microbiology experiments, genetics experiments, molecular biology experiments. Biological Science is an integrated major covering chemistry, biology and medicine, The core courses are: plant biology, animal biology, biochemistry, cell biology, microbiology, genetics, molecular biology, plant biology experiments, animal biology experiments, biochemistry experiments, cell biology experiments, microbiology experiments, genetics experiments, molecular biology experiments.



College of Life Sciences currently provides eight majors for graduate students, including botany, zoology, microbiology, genetics, cell biology, biochemistry & molecular biology, polymer chemistry & physics, and Bioengineering. Microbiology and Zoology are National  Key Disciplines, and Botany is National key construction discipline. In addition, Biology is Tianjin key discipline. Currently, 416 Master students and 345 PhD students are enrolled. The college also possesses a postdoctoral research center in biology.

Chairs/Deans of Department of Biology/college of life sciences, Nankai University